A) Limiting research by limiting labspots is such a bad design idea, given the fact that they are absolutely cheap compared to factories and they can be blocked by longrunning BP research.
B) Solutions would be easy... just remove those 32 buttons and let everyone docking at a station with labs have one not counting how much are rented.
C) To counter that, limit the amount of possible labs rented by skill and raise the money needed to rent them by a huge amount.
To counter your Quotes:
A)This doesnt make sence. You want them to limit them or No?
B) Then How would one like me research all 6 BPs that I trained for? I have the skills for research maxed for a reason, not for the fun of it.
C) You see those nicely made 1 run battle ship BPs? Well how about shelling out 20-40 mil per for a copy? Answer:
1) Part of the cost of the BPC is in the cost to rent the lab.
2) The labs rent lasts for 3 days.
3) It takes 15 days to get Viable product out of a BP to sell.
4) It takes a fully trained scientist 29 days to research and original cruiser BP to ME 10 (I just finished, thats why I know) thats 29 days of rent with no profit or income for that BP. That means the Overhead for that BP is to include the first part if research as well.
BPC's Cost broken down:
A) Price of Original
B) Price to research, in rental fee.
C) Price to Copy, in rental fee.
D) Market rate at that time.
E) Time or Cost to market.
F) Number of Prints to Break Even Point.
Lets apply the above 4 to say a 2 month time period. We will use the Thorax BP for starters.
A) Origional cost = 73-75 million
B) Rental fee = 1000 * 10 = 10000
C) Rental fee = 1000 * 10 = 10000
D) Market rate, ME 10 1 run copy = 200k
E) Marketing = 850 * X (X = number of weeks to sell individual print)
F) Number of Prints for BEP = Y
Ok now look at your costs, well take the 75 mil because its a nice round number. Your total costs will be 75Mil + (2 * 10000)= 75,020,000
Now divide the cost of the BP, research, and Copying by the amount they sell for. Youll get the number of prints that one has to sell to break even. In this case it would be 376 (Rounded up).
Now I know you cant make 376 Copies of a print in 1 month, so that price and the number of copies will go up, However not by much. 377 or 378 would suffice.
Now that is 3-4 months of copying and researching before they make a profit. Get that NO profit! they need to sell over 377 prints before they can say its been profitable. For me it takes 1 month for 100 copies of the said BP. Thats 10000 per month that I spend, no profit at all. And what happens if all of a sudden theres a flux in the market and the price drops? If you raise the Prices on these research slots, they generally wont be used and the player will have to pay alot more to get a BPC. If not an Exponential amount more.
Also look at your ship producers. You think they run 1 factory? No way they have as many as possible running with as many BPs as possible in them producing ships. Real hard if your BPCs are at exorbant rates to get a good BPC. Cant compete. Im not saying that all corps use BPCs but what of the smaller ones? and those Lone (No Corp) Individuals that have to suffer thru the market on the cost of thier ships.
To sum up... (too long maybe next time Ill go shorter) NO NEW TAXES!